The Malaysian Sepaktakraw Association (PSM) announced that a special play-off tournament will be held this Saturday to determine Sepak Takraw League (STL) Premier teams for the upcoming season.

According to an official statement, the 2023 STL Premier season, which is scheduled to begin in January, will only be participated by clubs registered under the association and invitational teams.

Taking place all in one day at the Titiwangsa Stadium in Kuala Lumpur, nine Division 1 teams will battle it out in the single-elimination tournament for the final two spots of the 10-team league.

As it stands, the teams set to participate in it are Bomba Fighters, Kelantan Warriors, Kedah Eagles, PDRM Defenders, Terengganu Turtles, Pahang Mammoth, Sabah Mountaineers, Sarawak Hunter and Penjara.

The ATM Guardians are currently the defending champions after pipping previous winners Kuala Lumpur Thunder to the title earlier this year.